The Old Russian Consulate is a Western-designed red brick building located on the steep slope of Saiwaizaka Avenue. The original consulate burned down in 1907, but was rebuilt in 1908 and acted as a consulate until it was officially closed in 1944. The first-floor roof above the main door to the building resembles a temple gate, representing a unique Japanese inspiration. The building's red bricks, blue roof and white plastered window frames also provide sharp color contrasts.
17-3 Funami-cho, Hakodate-shi
10 minutes by car from JR Hakodate Station
●Authorized Filming Dates & Times
Hakodate Film Commission